Canyon de Chelly
Frequently Asked Questions

The Council is composed of seven members, six of which are appointed by the Governor. The Council's chair is an ex-officio member as the Assistant Director of Legal Services (General Counsel) for the Department of Administration.

The Council's primary functions are the review of new rules or rule amendments proposed by state agencies and the review of existing agency rules every five years on a rotating basis to ensure that such rules are still necessary and effective.

On the last Tuesday of each month (weeks with holidays excepted), the Council holds a Study Session. A Study Session provides an opportunity for the Council to dialogue with agency representatives, the public, and Council staff. No voting and/or other legal action occurs at a Study Session. The Council votes, or takes other legal action, on agenda items discussed at the Study Session at the subsequent Council Meeting, which is held on the first Tuesday of each month (weeks with holidays excepted).

The In-House Agenda is the list of all pending rulemakings and five year review reports that are before the Council and available for public comment in a particular month.

No. The Council is a division of the Department of Administration.

Governor Bruce Babbitt established the Council in 1981 by Executive Order because it was determined to be in the public interest “to assure that administrative rules and regulations avoid unnecessary duplication and adverse impact upon the public.” In 1986, the legislature codified the Council in Title 41, Chapter 6, Article 5 of the Arizona Revised Statutes.

Rules are operating principles or orders of a state agency. The Legislature grants state agencies the statutory authority to make rules. Administrative rules have the force and effect of law. The official rules are published in the Arizona Administrative Code.

Statutes are laws that have been passed by the Legislature and signed by the Governor. They are compiled and published every year.

Both the Council’s Study Sessions and Meetings are open to the public in accordance with Arizona’s Open Meeting Law.

Written comments can easily be submitted to the Council at [email protected].

Yes. All public comments are reviewed by the Council’s staff attorneys and, when applicable, are forwarded on to Council members.